Email Address*
* Required fields

Sculpture Award

2021 Sculpture Award and Exhibition

Third Image

Grounds of Campbelltown campus (View Map)
7 May - 6 Jun 2021

Please visit our official site at Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition 2021

Prizes in the 2021 Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition:

  • Western Sydney University Acquisitive Sculpture Award - valued up to $30,000
  • Landcom People's Choice Award - $5,000 (non-acquisitive)
  • Janice Reid Site Specific Sculpture Award - $5,000 (non-acquisitive)
  • Peter Eichhorn Family Sculpture Award - $5,000 (non-acquisitive)

To assist interstate and international artists who have been selected as finalists, in the 2020, Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition, our Sponsor Quest Campbelltown is pleased to extend complimentary accommodation, to a maximum of five interstate and/or international finalist, which will coincide with the dates of the installation of the exhibition.

Landcom - Sponsor Quest - Sponsor

Western Sydney University thanks its sponsors, Landcom and Quest Campbelltown.


This exhibition was established in 2004, and aims to establish closer links between the University and artists, and engage with the community by providing a valuable educational and cultural resource, as well as enhancing the campus environment for teaching and learning. The Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition showcases major works by significant Australian and international artists, who have created sculptures especially for the University's Campbelltown Campus.


Curatorial panel:

Kon Gouriotis OAM (Editor of Artist Profile)

Kon Gouriotis OAM has held leadership roles in the Visual Arts since 1995. He was Director at the Australian Centre for Photography; Director, Visual Arts, the Australia Council for the Arts; Director of the Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre. He is the co-founder of 3C Projects. A regular arts writer for Australian Art Monthly, Asian Art News, and ArtAND. His recent curatorial projects include Silent Tears for the Ballarat International Foto Biennale (2015) and Open Field currently on at the Auburn Botanic Garden and Peacock Gallery. He is Editor of Artist Profile, a national journal dedicated to visual artists behind the art.

Nigel Harrison (Sculptor)

Nigel Harrison has a renowned Australian sculptor, who is held in numerous public art collections, such as Campbelltown City Bicentennial Art Gallery, Hazelhurst Regional Gallery, Macquarie University as well as being the winner of the Sydney Water prize in Sculpture by the Sea in 2001. He has an extensive exhibition history and has been a finalist in numerous sculpture prizes throughout Australia, such as the Sculpture by the Sea, Scenic World Sculpture Prize, Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize, and Western Sydney University Sculpture Award and Exhibition in 2006 and 2008. He has also been a lecturer in sculpture at the National Art School and was the Head of Sculpture there

Renee Porter (Curator)

Renee Porter has more than 20 years’ experience in curatorial and collection management roles having worked at the Art Gallery of NSW, The Lawrence Wilson Art Gallery, University of Western Australia and Campbelltown Arts Centre. Renee has extensive curatorial experience and project management and is currently Curator, Hurstville Museum & Gallery where she recently curated the ceramic and glass exhibition Beyond the bowl.  She is also a consultant curator for the S.H. Ervin Gallery for the Margaret Olley exhibition scheduled for January 2020.

Monica McMahon (Curator)

Monica McMahon has been the Western Sydney University Art Curator since 2002 and during this period she has established four galleries on its campuses. She is the exhibition program manager for all following Western Sydney University galleries; Margaret Whitlam Galleries (Parramatta Campus), Margot Hardy Gallery (Bankstown Campus) and Australia- China Institute for Arts And Culture Gallery ( Parramatta Campus) which are recognized public galleries. Monica is the artistic director of the Western Sydney University Acquisitive Sculpture Award and Exhibition (biennial outdoor exhibition held on the University's Campbelltown Campus), which was established in 2004. She is also the curator of the University's permanent art collection, responsible for the promotion, development, research and management of the collection which is distributed throughout the University's six campuses across Western Sydney.


Judging Panel:

  • Kon Gouriotis OAM (Editor Artist Profile)
  • Nigel Harrison (Sculptor)
  • Renee Porter (Curator)